Dallas Cowboys: Finalized Roster And Loaded Up Their Practice Squad

A few days ago, the Dallas Cowboys were too busy trimming down their roster to achieve the 53-man list. It was obvious that the team wasn’t totally ready until Monday after signing a couple of new players.  Christine Michael, who was previously a running back for the Seattle Seahawks, joined the bandwagon on Sunday. Meanwhile, Jasper Brinkley was released to make way for newly claimed offensive tackle Jordan Mills.

The Cowboys will be moving on to Week 1 with the following:

  • Two quarterbacks: Tony Romo and Brandon Weeden
  • Four running backs: Joseph Randle, Darren McFadden, Lance Dunbar, and Christine Michael
  • One fullback: Tyler Clutts
  • Five wide receivers: Dez Bryant, Terrance Williams, Cole Beasley, Devin Street, and Lucky Whitehead
  • Four tight ends: Jason Witten, Gavin Escobar, James Hanna, and Geoff Swaim
  • Six linebackers: Sean Lee, Anthony Hitchens, Kyle Wilber, Andrew Gachkar, Damien Wilson, and Keith Smith
  • Nine defensive backs: Brandon Carr, Morris Claiborne, Barry Church, J.J. Wilcox, Tyler Patmon, Byron Jones, Corey White, Jeff Heath, and Danny McCray
  • Three specialists: Dan Bailey, Chris Jones, and L.P. Ladouceur
  • Offensive line: Tyron Smith, Ronald Leary, Travis Frederick, Zack Martin, Doug Free, La’el Collins, Mackenzy Bernadeau, Darrion Weems, and Jordan Mills
  • Defensive line: DeMarcus Lawrence, Tyrone Crawford, Nick Hayden, Jeremy Mincey, Randy Gregory, Jack Crawford, Terrell McClain, Davon Coleman, Ken Bishop and Ryan Russell

Twenty participants have been dismissed by the team and are off to waiver wire or free agency. Filling in their practice squad became a lot easier as they welcomed back some familiar faces including Gus Johnson, Jameill Showers, Tim Scott, Dakorey Johnson and John Wetzel. It’s no wonder why the Dallas Cowboys signed G. Johnson on Tuesday since he had the most rushing yards (37 carries for 139 yards and two touchdowns) among their players this preseason.

Management also decided to add four new recruits – Vince Mayle, Rodney Smith, Joe Thomas and Kellen Moore. Both Mayle and Smith were originally with the Cleveland Browns before they landed a spot on the Cowboys’ practice squad.

During his college days at South Carolina State, Thomas obtained the MEAC Defensive Player of the Year award for accomplishing 115 total tackles, 19 tackles for loss, 7.5 sacks and an interception. Moore, who was part of the Detroit Lions’ quarterback room, seemed thrilled at the thought of being able to work with offensive coordinator Scott Linehan once again.

The Cowboys’ 10-man practice squad is officially full after acquiring cornerback Deji Olatoye on Wednesday. Olatoye was an undrafted rookie out of North Carolina A&T. He signed with the Baltimore Ravens on May 2014 but ended up with the Kansas City Chiefs after almost a month. Now that the squadron is fully loaded, it’s time to get down to business!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *